Governors’ Wind Energy Coalition and AWEA to host conference calls on importance of renewable energy tax credits

March 30, 2014

On Monday, March 31st, the American Wind Energy Association (AWEA) and the Governors’ Wind Energy Coalition will host two brief teleconference calls on the importance of extending the Production Tax Credit (PTC) and Investment Tax Credit (ITC). These calls will coincide with efforts by Senator Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), the new Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, to revive an array of tax incentives that expired in December 2013. The PTC and ITC were among those that expired.  

At 10:00 am EST (9:00am CST/ 7:00am PDT), wind industry leaders and manufacturers will discuss the success of the tax incentives and their importance to ensuring the long-term growth of wind energy development in the United States.

Following this call, at 11:00am EST (10:00am CST/ 8:00am PDT), leaders of the Governors' Wind Energy Coalition will discuss the importance of the tax credits to the states and the release of the governors' new letter in support of their extension. Governors Dennis Daugaard (R-SD), Jay Inslee (D-WA), Terry Branstad (R-IA), and John Kitzhaber (D-OR) signed the letter.

Teleconference #1: Wind Industry Leaders

Who:              Tom Kiernan, CEO, American Wind Energy Association

                     Mark Albenze, CEO Wind Americas, Siemens Energy

                     Terry Royer, CEO and President, Winergy Drive Systems Inc.

When:            10:00 am EST/ 9:00 am CST/ 8:00 am PST, Monday, March 31, for 30 minutes

Where:               Teleconference Number Available Upon Request

 

Teleconference #2: Governors’ Wind Energy Coalition

Who:              The Honorable Dennis Daugaard, Governor of South Dakota

                      Margaret Hoffman, Energy Policy Advisor, Governor John Kitzhaber (D-OR)

                      Larry Pearce, Executive Director, Governors’ Wind Energy Coalition

When:            11:00 am EST/ 10:00 am CST/ 9:00 am PDT, Monday, March 31, for 30 minutes

Where:              Teleconference Number Available Upon Request

What:             Telephone press conference on the renewable energy Production Tax Credit and Investment Tax Credit and new letter in support of its extension, signed by Govs. Daugaard (R-SD), Inslee (D-WA), Branstad (R-IA), and Kitzhaber (D-OR).

Why:              Economic stakes surrounding the proposed extension of the tax credits are high for states and companies involved in wind energy, including farmers and ranchers for whom it is a drought-resistant cash crop; communities benefiting from an influx of local taxes; and a U.S. manufacturing sector that has recently been the source of up to 30,000 jobs, making 72% of wind turbines in the USA.

About Governors’ Wind Energy Coalition

The Governors’ Wind Energy Coalition is a bipartisan group of the nation’s governors who are dedicated to the development of the nation’s wind energy resources to meet America’s domestic energy demands in an environmentally responsible manner — while reducing the nation’s dependence on imported energy sources and stimulating state and national economic development.     

Through its multi-state coordinated efforts, the Coalition is engaged in several national initiatives: encourage sound national policy and legislation for the development and distribution of wind-generated energy; communicate and demonstrate the value and benefits of wind energy to consumers, energy companies and policy makers; share state best practices in wind and renewable energy policy development; create an environment of support for those who wish to develop responsible wind energy resources; and support development of infrastructure for the expansion of wind energy across the United States. For more information, visit www.GovernorsWindEnergyCoalition.org

AWEA is the national trade association of the U.S. wind energy industry. We represent 1,000 member companies and over 100,000 jobs in the U.S. economy, serving as a powerful voice for how wind works for America. Members include global leaders in wind power and energy development, turbine manufacturing, and component and service suppliers. They gather each year at the Western Hemisphere’s largest wind power trade show, the AWEA WINDPOWER Conference & Exhibition, next in Chicago, Illinois, May 7-10, 2018. Find information about wind energy on the AWEA website. Gain insight into industry issues on AWEA's blog, Into the Wind. And please join us on Facebook, and follow @AWEA on Twitter.